Medical Insurance (Health Insurance) System after Retirement

MacAddict
Regular

Post by MacAddict »

If there are any retired (or about to retire) public university professors or public school teachers on this Forum, maybe you can advise me.

As a public university professor I am a member of the public school mutual aid association. Apparently my medical insurance terminates when I retire, but I can voluntarily continue for an additional 2 years.

After that I have to apply for National Health Insurance at my local municipal office.

:?: My question is: should I continue public school mutual aid association for the additional 2 years or simply apply for National Health Insurance?

We can’t predict the future of course, but I am very healthy and have never used the medical services in Japan - except when I stabbed my hand scraping ice off my car :cry:

Thank you.
captainspoke
Sage

Re: Medical Insurance (Health Insurance) System after Retirement

Post by captainspoke »

I retired from a private school, but the systems are probably more alike than different.

The word at the time was that if you had dependents, continuing on was better. Also, with that, continuing some health insurance add-ons was very easy (supplemental money if hospitalized, eg, for a private room). There was also some life insurance as a part of it that I had had, but on turning 65 the price went up enough for that that I did not extend that. Laziness was a factor--besides retirement itself, other things were changing, lots of different paperwork, and putting off the switch to the national health system was the lazy guy's choice.