Starting: review of options for a beginner

This is a safe space to ask any questions, no matter how basic.
Valoch33
Probation (posts moderated and no PMs)

Starting: review of options for a beginner

Post by Valoch33 »

Dear All,

First all, thank you for this wonderful website and forum about finance in Japan, I have to say the quantity and quality of information is amazing!
I've been leaving in Japan since 4 years (I'm French btw), and after a rough financial start, I have set a savings strategy and expense monitoring which gives me clear picture about my finances.
I'm now thinking to buy a house but I feel I should still strengthen my finances before doing so.

So I came around this great website and I'm now considering all the options. I have to say I'm a beginner! (so maybe you can help me :) )
I feel I still have to study and make research a bit more the possibilities before starting something.
Let me ask you some questions about the possible investments. (and sorry in advance for the stupid questions!)

1. iDeCo:
My company has an in house iDeCo they set by the end of 2015. At first, the idea of having back the money when I will by 60 was repealing. In fact I was wondering that if I don't stay in Japan until retirement, it wouldn't be a good idea to subscribe to this.
But after reading this blog, and reading again the instruction manual that my company gave to me, I'm wondering if I should subscribe to the iDeCo.
My question: Does it make sense to enter the iDeCo even if I stay in Japan for 5-10 years more?

2. Robo-advisor (Theo)
This kind of Robo-advisor looks very interesting to me since I am a beginner and it looks simple.
You just have to put your money into it, make the settings, and then just watch if your money growing (and decreasing :ugeek: )
You have also a kakutei kouza (tax-reporting account) if I read well.

Questions: