Is the ideco worth it in my situation?

Dan333
Probation (posts moderated and no PMs)

Is the ideco worth it in my situation?

Post by Dan333 »

Im a long term resident here in Japan with plans to retire here. Due to my job I do not pay income tax or residence tax. From what ive seen the major advantage of the ideco is that contributions are tax deductible, a downside being it cant be withdrawn until you are 60. But it seems I cannot make use of that advantage. Are gains completely tax free? Would I be better off just using a general investment account? (I max out my NISA)
JapaneseMike
Veteran

Re: Is the ideco worth it in my situation?

Post by JapaneseMike »

My understanding is that the contributions and the payout are tax free (invest in pre-tax income, realise gains at withdrawal time without tax burden) so even if you don't get both benefits, 1/2 the benefit is still worth it in my opinion
Moneymatters
Veteran

Post by Moneymatters »

JapaneseMike wrote: Wed Aug 04, 2021 11:24 am My understanding is that the contributions and the payout are tax free (invest in pre-tax income, realise gains at withdrawal time without tax burden) so even if you don't get both benefits, 1/2 the benefit is still worth it in my opinion
Hi. When you withdraw you are liable for tax on the full value of the fund.
All the money you invested and any gains. But you have a major allowance before tax is calculated..
Less than 20 years paying in. 40万 per yer.
21+ years. The allowance is 800万 + (70万 for each year over 20.)

Anything over your allowance is: divided by two (halved) then taxed at your marginal income tax rate. So basically added to whatever income you may have for that year. (You also have an option to take as a pension over several years rather than a lump sum.)

Let's say you manage to get a fund value 1,000万 over 15 years.
Your allowance is 15 * 40万 = 600万.
Amount over the allowance 400万. Halved = 200万
200万 is the income you would be taxed on.