Tax accounting software

imaginatorium
Regular

Tax accounting software

Post by imaginatorium »

Bit of a problem with the tax office... I have been submitting self-employed / 個人事業 accounts for more than 30 years, and using the blue thing (青色申告) for most of that. I was a translator for the first half of that, and I now sell jigsaw puzzles on the net.

I have always done my accounts by adding up the income, and adding up the expenditure, using a spreadsheet. In practice income is almost always in big lumps, so a complete list is quite manageable; for expenses we keep the receipts. The tax office decided to inspect my accounts, which is quite reasonable, since we are getting a huge SHZ / VAT refund every year - basically 1/11 of costs excluding the Post Office.

Anyway, they say they "would prefer it if I used 簿記ソフト (accounting software). Unfortunately I know nothing of how this would work any differently from what I do now. Can anyone give me a 10-minute introduction to double-entry bookkeeping? I think the problem is the 貸借対照表 (asset balance something??) and a mystery thing called 事業主貸, which I have glossed as "withdwgs", and it is basically caused by having the same bank account for personal and business use. So the number itself means nothing to me. I wonder - does general accounting software automatically generate these numbers? Sorry, mustn't ramble - but suggestions would be gratefully accepted.
Brian Chandler
Jigsaw puzzles from Japan
https://imaginatorium.com
mikele3
Veteran

Re: Tax accounting software

Post by mikele3 »

as far as I know this is supposed to be the best option in Japan:
https://www.freee.co.jp/

I am often looking into it, as it is frustrating not having this kind of software support, but unfortunately, the language barrier is still too big for me to being able to use it.