Paying social insurance etc... when overseas for several months

This is a safe space to ask any questions, no matter how basic.
Hedgehog

Paying social insurance etc... when overseas for several months

Post by Hedgehog »

Quick question to those with more experience:

I'm a permanent resident with a full-time job in Japan. At some point this year I may go back to the UK for several months. I would take paid leave for part of that period, and unpaid leave for the rest (my employer is understanding and benevolent). I have read elsewhere on the forum that I would need to continue to pay National Pension and National Health Insurance, and also kaigo hoken, for the period of unpaid leave while I am away. Is that correct? Anything else I should consider ahead of making plans?

I've had a quick look on the forum and can't find a similar topic, but if there is one I'd be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.
adamu
Sage

Re: Paying social insurance etc... when overseas for several months

Post by adamu »

This has come up a couple of times recently. Some things to consider here:
https://retirewiki.jp/wiki/Residency_fo ... from_Japan
Tkydon
Sage

Post by Tkydon »

As the amounts do not change from month to month (set on an annual basis) you could ask your employer's payroll department to continue to pay those payments for you and maybe pay up front from your last paycheck before you leave, or pay in arrears from your first paycheck when you get back.
:
:
This Guide to Japanese Taxes, English and Japanese Tai-Yaku 対訳, is now a little dated:

https://zaik.jp/books/472-4

The Publisher is not planning to publish an update for '23 Tax Season.
ClearAsMud
Veteran

Post by ClearAsMud »