How to connect bank account to NISA (Rakuten)

Jemineye
Regular

How to connect bank account to NISA (Rakuten)

Post by Jemineye »

So, I'm not a bright person.
I'm new to all of this and have no idea what I'm doing.

I have successfully managed to open a NISA. Hurray!
But I don't have a Rakuten bank account because I had previously opened an SMBC account, which I was hoping I could connect to it instead, so I could funnel money into the NISA.

How do I connect my SMBC bank account to my NISA?
No amount of Google Translate is helping me right now.
RetireJapan
Site Admin

Re: How to connect bank account to NISA (Rakuten)

Post by RetireJapan »

There are two* ways to fund your NISA/broker account: send money to it by bank transfer (easy, manual, might incur a fee), or have it taken out automatically to buy funds (easy once it is set up, setting up can be a pain).

*you can also use credit cards, etc.
English teacher and writer. RetireJapan founder. Avid reader.

eMaxis Slim Shady 8-)
Haystack
Veteran

Post by Haystack »

RetireJapan wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 3:30 am There are two* ways to fund your NISA/broker account: send money to it by bank transfer (easy, manual, might incur a fee), or have it taken out automatically to buy funds (easy once it is set up, setting up can be a pain).

*you can also use credit cards, etc.
Agreed

Sweep and Credit Card are far superior as they form good habits. Nisa, iDeco and tsumitate become bills, and you reprioritize your spending.
beanhead
Sage

Post by beanhead »

RetireJapan wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 3:30 am There are two* ways to fund your NISA/broker account: send money to it by bank transfer (easy, manual, might incur a fee),
Agreed that automatic regular payments, by credit card or bank transfer, are very sensible.

Regarding bank fees, Rakuten Shoken has direct links to a number of banks, including SMBC.