eMaxis SLIM series or Rakuten Vanguard Fund series

This is a safe space to ask any questions, no matter how basic.
ChapInTokyo
Regular

eMaxis SLIM series or Rakuten Vanguard Fund series

Post by ChapInTokyo »

Hello. I'm a newbie on this board, hoping that I can get some advice from the veterans on this board.

Question is this. I gather that eMaxis Slim mutual funds are the preferred Japanese fund for many of you on this board. The question is is the eMaxis Slim better than the Rakuten Vanguard Fund series, and if so, what are the pros and cons?

A little bit about my current position. I have Vanguard ETF positions (VTI, VXUS, BND, BNDX) at Firstrade, which are on an automatic re-investment (DRIP) plan. I want to liquidate these positions and migrate them to a Japanese mutual fund position at SBI or some other online broker in Japan.

I see that the expense ratio + fees that eMaxis Slim charges is a few points lower than that charged by Rakuten Vanguard series. Are there any other differences which make the eMaxis the preferred choice?

Yoroshiku onegai shimasu!
beanhead
Sage

Re: eMaxis SLIM series or Rakuten Vanguard Fund series

Post by beanhead »

I have both. Rakuten does not offer eMaxis Slim in the iDeCo, so the next best thing are the Vanguard funds.
Over the long term, I don't think there will be a noticeable difference in performance.
Aiming to retire at 60 and live for a while longer. 95% index funds (eMaxis Slim etc), 5% Japanese dividend stocks.
zeroshiki
Veteran

Post by zeroshiki »

Shoutout to adamu

https://retirewiki.jp/wiki/Japanese_global_index_funds

The Rakuten Vanguard fund is literally a wrapper for VT so there's some tax inefficiency in it versus just going straight up for the eMaxis Slim which buys the stocks themselves.

Key quote: