How to pay Japanese pension from abroad?

HeavyMetal
Regular

How to pay Japanese pension from abroad?

Post by HeavyMetal »

Hello everyone,
Question's in subject - how to pay Japanese pension from abroad?
I only know it's possible via Prestia bank which allows to keep local account on leaving. But, they have a condition - it must be funded for 500,000+ yen, otherwise, monthly fee of 2,000 yen will be deducted. So Prestia is a workaround, but not very convenient.
Any other way to pay Japanese pension from abroad? Direct international bank transfers, maybe? In this case - could they be done like once a year, or something? Not monthly. Cause transfers aren't cheap...
Thanks!
zeroshiki
Veteran

Re: How to pay Japanese pension from abroad?

Post by zeroshiki »

Why would you be paying INTO Japanese pension when you're not in Japan nor a Japanese national. I'm not a lawyer but that sounds like pension fraud.

On the Japan Pension Office page they say this:

海外に居住することになった時は、国民年金は強制加入被保険者ではなくなりますが、日本国籍の方であれば、国民年金に任意加入することができます。

If you're going to live overseas you can OPTIONALLY pay into kokumin nenkin as long as you are a Japanese citizen.
HeavyMetal
Regular

Post by HeavyMetal »

Oh. Citizens only. That makes things harder 8-)
zeroshiki wrote: Thu Jul 28, 2022 2:54 am Why would you be paying INTO Japanese pension when you're not in Japan nor a Japanese national. I'm not a lawyer but that sounds like pension fraud.
Because, if I have paid in Japan for some years, I will lose them all if I cancel (yeah I know I can get some money back on leaving). And the idea that I'll have to start paying in another country from scratch doesn't sound exciting either...
beanhead
Sage

Post by beanhead »

HeavyMetal wrote: Thu Jul 28, 2022 2:57 pm
Because, if I have paid in Japan for some years, I will lose them all if I cancel (yeah I know I can get some money back on leaving). And the idea that I'll have to start paying in another country from scratch doesn't sound exciting either...