First steps towards investing

This is a safe space to ask any questions, no matter how basic.
Aramusha

First steps towards investing

Post by Aramusha »

Hello and Happy New Year!

I´m new to financial investments and first would like to thank the members in advance for what they already shared. I read into some of the topics available but would still like to get some insights and advice.

I´m a total novice in regards to managing my finances. Since moving to Japan (right after finishing University), I started to save round about 15% of my monthly salary. Currently, I have around 350man in savings with MUFG. Money which is basically doing nothing – which I´d like to change. I started reading some books by US authors (I´m German), so most of my understanding is based on those and what I found online about investing in Japan (mainly also thanks to this page and the forum). Just to give some more details about my current financial background:

- Open Student credit (approx. 4000 EUR, currently being paid on a quarterly basis)
- Loan on a house in Tokyo which my wife and I are currently paying off
- Daughter (6 years) just started going to an international school in Tokyo

My – rough – goal is to invest around 100man per year, based on how I progressed the past years. Now, with our daughter in school this might change in the foreseeable future, but I think it should be doable. 100man is the minimum I would like to achieve.

I´m currently waiting for my MyNumber card in order to open an account with SBI – based on advice from a friend it looks like the right option for my needs. I will go ahead and open a NISA account and would also like to go towards iDeCo. A first question:

1.) I read that from 2024 the New (eternal) NISA will start. If I now start with Tsumitate NISA, can I move to the eternal one in 2024 easily?