Buying house in Japan with money from home sale...newbie questions.

solo7100
Regular

Buying house in Japan with money from home sale...newbie questions.

Post by solo7100 »

Greetings,

I have read mostly all of the questions on here about capital gains tax from selling a property overseas to fund the purchase of a home here in Japan. As I am a newbie (in the newest sense of the word), I still cannot get my head around some of the terminology and such.

Basic questions:

1. We own a home in the states, completely paid for, done.
2. We sell it. Get money. Put it in bank account in America.
3. We bring said money into Japan. Obviously it'll be an eyebrow raiser for the Japanese bank we siphon it into...I think?
4. We use that money for property purchase here.
5. Live happily because of the above mentioned smooth process...hopefully.

What would I need to know before, during and after I do this? Taxes? Paperwork? What to prepare in Japan to be ready? I really think we would sell it at a huge loss, and that's where my wondering is about capital gains tax or whatever else.

Thanks for any insight!
TokyoBoglehead
Veteran

Re: Buying house in Japan with money from home sale...newbie questions.

Post by TokyoBoglehead »

solo7100 wrote: Fri Apr 07, 2023 3:43 am Greetings,

I have read mostly all of the questions on here about capital gains tax from selling a property overseas to fund the purchase of a home here in Japan. As I am a newbie (in the newest sense of the word), I still cannot get my head around some of the terminology and such.

Basic questions:

3. We bring said money into Japan. Obviously it'll be an eyebrow raiser for the Japanese bank we siphon it into...I think?

What would I need to know before, during and after I do this? Taxes? Paperwork? What to prepare in Japan to be ready? I really think we would sell it at a huge loss, and that's where my wondering is about capital gains tax or whatever else.

Thanks for any insight!