Retire or resign?

MacAddict
Regular

Retire or resign?

Post by MacAddict »

This is definitely a naive query as I am extremely bad at personal finance. I read this Forum with much envy. Anyway, I have ‘sliding doors’ moment and am seeking opinions. If this query is out of scope for this Forum, I apologize in advance.

I am a professor of 18 years at a Japanese public university and must retire in 2024.
In my final year at university my salary is reduced; despite being expected to do the same/more work (but let’s not go down that road).
However, I have been offered another full time job.

So my dilemma is: do I remain at my university on this reduced salary until I retire OR do I resign and take the new job?

The concern I have is: what financial benefits will I lose if I resign as opposed to naturally seeing out this university employment til I officially retire?
Obviously, I cannot seek advice from my uni admin.

Thank you in advance.
Michael
captainspoke
Sage

Re: Retire or resign?

Post by captainspoke »

The elephant in the room might be how this would affect your severance. Retiring at the official threshold usually means a higher payout than if you resign (an informal retirement that doesn't meet the rule book criteria).

Also the new job--is it contract or regular/seishain, hours, commute, non-teaching responsibilities (shadow work), and so on.

And your personal situation--investments to date, any debt, family needs, housing, goals for what you'd want your situation to be in 3, 5, or 10 yrs, etc.
adamu
Sage

Post by adamu »

Are they likely to turn around at the end of one year of lower pay to say "how about another year of lower pay?", just delaying the situation?

Is there a reason the salary is reduced (i.e. compensated elsewhere)?
Tkydon
Sage

Post by Tkydon »

When does the new gig want you to start? and are the terms better than the reduced terms where you are?

When in 2024? Jan? Dec? 9 months, or 20 months?