Personal Allowanace on UK Tax Filing

avocadotoast

Personal Allowanace on UK Tax Filing

Post by avocadotoast »

Hi all!

Japanese resident and I'm submitting my UK self-assessment tax return (via a third-party software) for the first time. Before I submit it, I want to confirm whether or not I'm eligible for the £12,570 personal allowance via a double-taxation agreement (DTA)?

Thanks in advance.
Wales4rugbyWC23
Veteran

Re: Personal Allowanace on UK Tax Filing

Post by Wales4rugbyWC23 »

You are entitled to the personal allowance; I claim my own and my wife's for a few flat's rents. I have been doing it for 12 years no problem.
Deep Blue
Veteran

Post by Deep Blue »

My wife owns rental property in the UK and I didn't think she was eligible for the UK personal allowance. She has never lived in the UK nor got a National Insurnance number. Is she eligible for the personal allowance?
Beaglehound
Veteran

Post by Beaglehound »

Deep Blue wrote: Mon Aug 07, 2023 1:04 pm My wife owns rental property in the UK and I didn't think she was eligible for the UK personal allowance. She has never lived in the UK nor got a National Insurnance number. Is she eligible for the personal allowance?
Government says U.K. and EEA nationals are entitled to it, though I imagine the latter may be under threat. Government also says other nationalities may be entitled depending on the provisions of double taxation treaty.
Deep Blue
Veteran

Post by Deep Blue »

Beaglehound wrote: Mon Aug 07, 2023 1:23 pm
Deep Blue wrote: Mon Aug 07, 2023 1:04 pm My wife owns rental property in the UK and I didn't think she was eligible for the UK personal allowance. She has never lived in the UK nor got a National Insurnance number. Is she eligible for the personal allowance?
Government says U.K. and EEA nationals are entitled to it, though I imagine the latter may be under threat. Government also says other nationalities may be entitled depending on the provisions of double taxation treaty.