Absolute beginner question RE Nissay DC fund allocation

This is a safe space to ask any questions, no matter how basic.
david

Absolute beginner question RE Nissay DC fund allocation

Post by david »

First post! This is all very new to me, so as a little background, Im from the UK, 46 years old and planning to retire in Japan (obviously!) and have been here since about 2000. This year my company switched from a corporate pension fund to a DC plan managed by Nissay, partly due to me and my line manager both being away during most of the transition and having to do a whole bunch of paper work related to the change over which was a bit over my head I didnt really understand or put much thought into the fund alloction. So I put the money I had in the pension (about 1.4 million yen) into the following funds

40 % 預金(元本確保型) 三菱UFJ銀行確定拠出年金専用5年定期預金
40 % 保険(元本確保型) ニッセイ利率保証年金(10年保証プラス/日々設定)
20 % バランス型 DCニッセイワールドセレクトファンド(安定型)

But have been reading a little and this seems like a very conservative approach as I am 20 odd years off retirment. I have a UK pension I have kept up payments on and I also have NISA ive just started and an IDECO application on the way through rakuten (might have questions about those later in another thread) so the DC fund isnt my only pension so I am totally open to some higher risk more long term products, does anyone have any experience with Nissay DC funds or would it be appropriate to post a list of options and could someone guide me through it a little? Sorry its all a bit bewlidering!

If its important, my company doesnt allow extra contributions to the DC fund at the moment hence me opening the IDECO. Thanks in advance for any help!
RetireJapan
Site Admin

Re: Absolute beginner question RE Nissay DC fund allocation

Post by RetireJapan »

Hi David