UK driving licence

This is where you can post your detailed situation or plan and get feedback.
Katana

UK driving licence

Post by Katana »

Dear members,

I hope you are all well.

I am interested to hear from other members who occasionally drive in the UK.
I am a permanent resident in Japan but sometimes drive in the UK when visiting family and friends.

Up until now I have just carried my old green paper licence with my old address on it but I have recently found out that the address should be updated and failure to do so could incur a large fine if caught driving in the UK with it?

* Has anyone updated their licence from the green paper one? How did you go about doing it? What were the costs?

* Has anyone just used their Japanese licence when driving in the UK? Did you need to get it translated?

Thank you in advance for any help / advice you can give.
kuma
Veteran

Re: UK driving licence

Post by kuma »

There’s some info on the wiki:

https://retirewiki.jp/wiki/United_Kingd ... n-resident

https://retirewiki.jp/wiki/United_Kingd ... t_of_Japan

Personally, when driving in the UK as a resident of Japan I have used my Japanese licence with an International Driving Permit. I’ve taken that decision as I’m unsure on the status of my GB licence. As you say, it is meant to be updated with the correct address, yet there is no facility to update to an overseas address.
Roger Van Zant
Veteran

Post by Roger Van Zant »

Whenever I go back to the UK I make sure to get an international driving permit here in Japan before leaving.
I still have my old UK driving licence (pink card one), but it expired a long time ago.
If there is a way to renew my UK licence from Japan, I would be keen to know!
Investments:
Company DB scheme ✓
iDeCo (Monex) eMaxis Slim All Country ✓
新NISA (SBI) eMaxis Slim All Country ✓
Japanese pension (kosei nenkin) ✓
UK pension (Class 2 payer) ✓
kuma
Veteran

Post by kuma »