Where to Park USD

Gulliver
Veteran

Where to Park USD

Post by Gulliver »

Where would be the most lucrative/tax advantaged place to park a few hundred thousand USD inheritance? I am a permanent Japanese tax resident. Living permanently in Japan.

Would it be best to keep it in the US and bring money into Japan as needed?

If so, in a taxable mutual fund account? Seems like a tax reporting nightmare.

Is an IRA advisable for a portion?

A US acquaintance warned me about triple taxation on US income. He was actually moving out of Japan because of it. (he tried to explain it, but it went over my head :? ).

Or, would bringing it into Japan to invest be more beneficial? Especially now with the good exchange rate.

(I’m not interested in the hassle of real estate investing).
TokyoWart
Veteran

Re: Where to Park USD

Post by TokyoWart »

If you are a US citizen your investment choices are much broader and more attractive in the US. From a Japanese perspective, the tax treatment of foreign (e.g. US) foreign investment accounts is slightly disadvantageous compared to Japanese brokerage accounts but the difference is not large. In addition to the usual, "Boglehead" approved investments like broad market index funds there are a number of preferred equity or other "hard money" real estate lending funds that become available if you are an accredited investor willing to invest a few hundred thousand dollars at a time.

Your ability to fund an IRA will depend on having "earned" income after taking FEIE and is also limited to relatively smaller yearly limits of $7000 ($8000 if over 50). An inheritance itself woud not count as "earned" income.
Gulliver
Veteran

Post by Gulliver »