2024 JP Tax forecast negotiable?

PaulP

2024 JP Tax forecast negotiable?

Post by PaulP »

I am a JP tax resident and sold a big chunk of long-held US stocks in 2023 and paid a capital gains on them to Japan on my 2023 return. I am concerned that my tax 2024 forecast for Japan will be quite inflated this year. I am not expecting to have any big gains like that this year. Is it worth making a case to have my taxes set on my projected 2024 earnings rather than on 2023 earnings? I know I can pay the taxes and then get money back next year. But of course I prefer to keep my money in the market and only pay what I owe.

Anybody have any experience with a similar situation? None of my trusted advisers are optimistic you can get these amounts adjusted but they also haven't ever been in this situation.

thanks!!

-p
TokyoWart
Veteran

Re: 2024 JP Tax forecast negotiable?

Post by TokyoWart »

What do you mean by your 2024 tax "forecast"? We pay the local tax (住民税) in arrears so while you make those payments starting around June of 2024 it is not a forecast of your 2024 income but you catching up with your local tax liability. The national income tax (所得税) will be based on your income as you earn it and since you paid the capital gains on that already it should not affect your tax rate for income tax during 2024.
PaulP

Post by PaulP »

Thank you for responding.