Karakikan for a permanent resident

regular
Regular

Karakikan for a permanent resident

Post by regular »

I was a graduate student in Japan for four years in early ninety's, when I was in my twenty's and was not required to pay into the pension system. My annual teikibin now shows all the months I have contributed since I was on a salary. However, I have read that permanent residents (which I am now but was not then) can claim the years they were not required to pay into the pension system to be marked as Karakikan which may help in some contexts.

When I called the pension office, they flatly told me that Karakikan does not exist.

Has anyone been successful in incorporating karakikan into their pension contribution record?
RetireJapan
Site Admin

Re: Karakikan for a permanent resident

Post by RetireJapan »

Interesting! I'd heard it was a thing, but never got round to checking officially...

Anyone else?
English teacher and writer. RetireJapan founder. Avid reader.

eMaxis Slim Shady 8-)
ricardo
Veteran

Post by ricardo »

I’d heard that it means if you have PR you can get a pension with what in those days was less than 25 years payments (reduced price-rata, of course, for the amount you actually paid in).

Now that the qualifying period is 10 years I don’t know if this still applies.
Stewart

Post by Stewart »

A while back, before they lowered the minimum period to 10 years to get a pension, I wrote and got a reply to the issue of karakikan. The letter states that the empty period counts for the length of time to qualify for a pension if that person was out of the country - this applies to both foreigners and Japanese. However, it does not count towards the amount of money that is paid for the pension - that will be in direct proportion to how much you actually paid in. I've not used this and won't have to as I will have 15 years in the Japanese system.