Inquiry letter regarding foreign remittance (海外送金に関するお尋ね)

bonnie21

Inquiry letter regarding foreign remittance (海外送金に関するお尋ね)

Post by bonnie21 »

Hi everyone,

I recently received an inquiry letter regarding foreign remittance(海外送金に関するお尋ね)from my local tax office and I’m wondering if anyone else has experience filling it out. A few years ago I sent the money to myself to help buy a house here in Japan. The money came from stock sales back home on which I paid capital gains tax there. All my assets abroad are from before I moved to Japan

I did a free consultation with a tax accountant over the phone, but their best advise was to just go redo the past 5 years of tax returns in Japan to see if I owed any additional capital gains tax beyond what I paid abroad. This would be a very time consuming (and possibly expensive) process, especially as I have never done it before so I’m hoping it won’t come to that.

Obviously I want to end this as quickly and quietly as possible without getting drawn into a full blown audit. But I also don’t want to lie, in case I do get audited. So I thought about just writing that the money was from savings since the money transfer originated from my personal checking account and not directly from the sale of assets. The form itself seems to be written in a away that it assumes someone else is sending you the money which is a likely case for many Japanese people with assets abroad. So I’m thinking of just showing my US bank statements that show the money came from my account. But something tells me they will probably come back with more questions regarding the original source of the funds so it may just be delaying the inevitable.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Last edited by bonnie21 on Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
RetireJapan
Site Admin

Re: Inquiry letter regarding foreign remittance (海外送金に関するお尋ね)

Post by RetireJapan »

Hi Bonnie

Can't give you advice unfortunately :)